Dark Chocolate & Peanut Butter Cupcakes

First game of the season is a win. It was a perfect day for football, and I have some great tan lines to show for it. Since J’s guys played so great I thought I would try something new and make frosting from scratch. I’m so glad that I did because it turned out great! I could have eaten it by the spoonful, but that would mean more time at the gym.

Since I just got a gym membership, I’ve been having to reorganize my schedule to include a few days a week there. I really have no excuses to not go, since the place is right across the street from where I work. It’s seriously a minute walk from parking lot to parking lot. Last week J challenged me to go 4 times in one week. Challenged is just a sweet way of saying that we made a bet, and I was too stubborn to lose that bet. I’m not a big fan of exercise, but I was surprised at how easy it was for me to go and work out for 40+ minutes and then be done. And I felt great! So now my goal is to go 3-4 times a week…..and eat less cupcakes.

Dark Chocolate & Peanut Butter Cupcakes

Who doesn’t love chocolate and peanut butter? And if you don’t, then you’re just weird. These were so easy to make. I’m a big fan of simple recipes when I’m baking for a lot of people. The less time I spend mixing and filling cupcake liners the better. I also like recipes where there are no more than 10 ingredients. I made 48 cupcakes this week, so we don’t need to complicate desserts.

Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcake

Dark Chocolate & Peanut Butter Cupcakes

For cupcakes:

  • Betty Crocker Dark Chocolate cake mix
  • 3 eggs
  • 1¼ cup water
  • ½ cup oil
  • Optional: peanut butter cups

For Frosting:

  • 1 stick butter (softened)
  • ¼ cup creamy peanut butter
  • 2 Tbs. Whipping cream
  • ½ tsp vanilla
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 2 cups powdered sugar

Make the cupcakes as directed on back of the box. If you want to include a peanut butter cup inside the cupcake for a surprise, add them to the cupcake after filling the liners with batter. Bake and let cool.

To make the frosting, start by creaming together the butter and peanut butter. Add 1 Tbs of the whipping cream, vanilla, and salt and cream again. Slowly add the powdered sugar. Add in the last of the whipping cream and whip until fluffy.

I made a double batch of everything and had plenty of frosting left over! Enjoy!

Dark Chocolate PeanutButter Cupcakes

 

26 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate & Peanut Butter Cupcakes

  1. Julie Becker says:

    I love your blog, Aubrey!!! I enjoy reading about what’s up with you and J, plus you are quite the cook!! Great recipe ideas. Keep it up!

    Like

    • Peanut Butter and chocolate is a winning combination! I used the Reynold No Fade liners, which work really nicely at keeping the pattern, especially when using a dark batter. I’ve used ones from dollar tree before, and after baking you tend to lose the pattern on the liners.

      Thanks for checking out my recipe!

      Like

Let me know what you think!

